Skip to main content

Melbourne Cup 2019 Winners Vow and Declare with Results

Vow and Declare took the Melbourne Cup even though the odds were not in their favour. The horse surprised punters by taking the first position with jockey Craig Williams. This is his first cup win and boy was he shocked. Vow and Declare went in front of Cross Counter and Mer De Glace who were the favourites.

As the race progressed Il Paradiso had interference from Master of Reality in the initial 100m. Master of Reality ended in third position. Vow and Declare first-place Melbourne Cup 2019 win could not be disputed.

Vow and Declare Make Australia Proud

Most of the predictions were siding with international horses but an Aussie took the cup. Vow and Declare weighs 52kg and began on barrier 21, one of the worst places to start. Williams’ pushed through even with such circumstances. Professional bettors thought that he would finish in a good place but never to win after the Caulfield Cup.

Cross Counter didn’t take a spot in the top six and likely lost a couple of punters along the way. Constantinople can’t even be seen on the list. Prince of Arran, a new horse was not in the list of the top ten predictions. We can’t deny that the Melbourne Cup was entertaining!

AU Horse Wins the 2019 Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup Horse Positions

Michael Walker, jockey for Prince of Arran, has been fined for “excessive whip use” and barred for seven meetings. Walker will need to take out AUD$10 000. On the other end Frankie Dettori, jockey of Master of Reality, interfered and has been banned for nine meetings.

  • 1st – Vow and Declare (Danny O’Brien) Williams (21)52kg
  • 2nd – Prince of Arran (Charlie Fellowes) Walker (8) 54kg
  • 3rd – Il Paradiso (Aidan O’Brien) Lordan (17)52.5kg
  • 4th– Master of Reality (Joseph O’Brien) Dettori(1) 55.5kg
  • 5th – Surprise Baby(Paul Presuker) Childs (20) 53.5kg
  • 6th– Mer De Glace (Hishashi Shimizu) Lane (2) 56kg
  • 7th–Finche (Chris Waller) McEvoy (4) 54kg
  • 8th– Cross Counter (Charlie Appleby) Buick (5) 57.5kg
  • 9th– Steel Prince(Anthony Freedman) Prebble (16) 52.5kg
  • 10th– Magic Wand(Aidan O’Brien) Moore (24) 53.5kg
  • 11th –Twilight Payment (Joseph O’Brien) Bowman (19) 55kg

The year isn’t over and there are more races to come so keep up-to-date with the latest news.

More Recent News